By Matt Dykstra | July 19, 2021

SIOUX FALLS, SD – The Jr. NBA announced today that Bill Maxwell from Parkston, South Dakota has been named one of eight National Coach of the Year semifinalists. Maxwell entered a national pool of coaches submitted by NBA, WNBA and NBA G League teams after being named the Sioux Falls Skyforce Local Jr. NBA Coach of the Year back in April.

The complete list of semifinalists includes:

Brooklyn Nets, Coach Sarah Horowitz
Chicago Bulls, Coach Andre Lodree Jr.
LA Clippers, Coach Natalie Gutierrez
Las Vegas Aces, Coach Anjelica Ostrea
Los Angeles Lakers, Coach Carl Evans
Memphis Grizzlies, Coach Mariah Chandler
New York Knicks, Coach Clarence Mugsy Legget
Sioux Falls Skyforce, Coach Bill Maxwell

Fan voting began today to determine three National Finalists. Basketball fans and members of the greater South Dakota community can help Maxwell reach the next round by casting a vote HERE.

Fan voting, which accounts for 25 percent of the finalist selection process, will remain open until Sunday, July 18. Executive Panel voting (50 percent) and individual interviews (25 percent) serve as the additional determining factors.

If selected as a finalist, Maxwell would receive a $2,500 grant in support of his youth basketball program in Parkston. The eventual overall winner will receive an additional $2,500 grant as well as the National Jr. NBA Coach of the Year Trophy.

For more information on Coach Maxwell, as well as his fellow national semifinalists, visit the Jr. NBA website HERE and follow the “semifinalists” dropdown.